ALBUM PREVIEW: Gorillaz – ‘Humanz’

After nearly 7 years of quiet obscurity, Gorillaz have announced details of a new album, released four new singles to keep fans waiting and promised a plethora of gigs to come.

The title of the highly anticipated album called ‘Humanz’, will become the super group’s fifth studio record, whilst marking the start of their fourth conceptual phase titled “We Are Still Humanz”.

The animated band, lead by charismatic Blur frontman man Damon Albarn and comic book artist Jamie Hewlett, have been teasing fans and critics will details of a rumoured comeback since 2014. Nearly three years after the release of ‘The Fall’, recorded in its entirety on Albarn’s iPad.


The group is world-renowned for blurring the lines between musical genres. Their innovative, experimental combination of hip hop, pop rock, alternative rock, trip hop, electronica and funk just to name a few.

On Thursday, the band released a series of images on Instagram, which subsequently announced the name and date of the new album, as well as puzzling images of possible collaborations.

In true Gorillaz style, the band sent fans and the internet into delirium, releasing two music videos, four songs from the upcoming album and topping it off by announcing a secret London gig on Friday.

The four new tracks released on Friday are ‘Saturnz Barz’ (feat. Popcaan), ‘Andromeda’ (feat. DRAM), ‘We Got The Power’ (feat. Savages’ Jehnny Beth) and ‘Ascension’ (feat. Vince Staples).

‘Saturnz Barz’ is a reggae-inspired song accompanied by a peculiar video where the animated ‘Gorillaz’ are seen entering a haunted house and in which the characters are sent to an alternate dimension.

Whereas ‘In We Got The Power’, Oasis superstar Noel Gallagher can be heard filling in on backing vocals throughout the song.

The impending release of ‘Humanz’ signals a new era for the band after speculation of creative differences lead to a rift between Albarn and Hewlett threatened the future of the group.

‘Humanz’ will be available to UK stores and on streaming platforms 28 April.


1. Ascension feat. Vince Staples
2. Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
3. Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
4. Momentz feat. De La Soul
5. Submission feat. Danny Brown and Kelela
6. Charger feat. Grace Jones
7. Andromeda feat. DRAM
8. Busted and Blue
9. Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
10. Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples and Pusha T
11. Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle and Zebra Katz
12. She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
13. Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
14. We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth

Bonus Tracks:

15. The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz, and RAY BLK
16. Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett
17. Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz, and Imani Vonshà
18. Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon and Kali Uchis
19. Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes

Words by Matthew Thomas